Institution Affiliated to Bharathiar University

G.N.Mills Post, Coimbatore - 641029, Tamil Nadu, INDIA

  • Re-accredited by NAAC with 'A' Grade 3.64 CGPA (3rd Cycle)
  • College of Excellence (UGC)
  • Co-Educational Institution Approved by UGC, New Delhi

Academic Announcements


          The PG Department of English (Un-Aided) inaugurated its Literary Association- SMART for the academic year 2018-2019 on 19th July, 2018 in the college Conference Hall at 10.00 a.m. Mrs.R.Mrinalini David, Secretary, Bishop Appasamy College of Arts and Science, Coimbatore was the Chief Guest.

            The event was invoked by Ms.S. Dhanya Menon of II MA English Literature and Ms. C.K. Akshaya of III BA English Literature. This was followed by the lighting of the Kuthuvilaku (Traditional Lamp) by the dignitaries on the dais. Ms.S. Dhanya Menon, President of the Literary Association, welcomed the gathering. The presentation of mementos ensued.

          Dr. S.P.Sasi Rekha, Associate Professor & Head of the Department, introduced the Office Bearers of the Literary Association – SMART to the gathering. Dr.Diwakar Thomas, Associate Professor introduced the various clubs (Smart Club, Star Club, Scrutiny Club, and Elysian Fields) to the gathering.The second volume of the Department’s Newsletter - WINGS was released by the Chief Guest and was received by the dignitaries. Dr.V.Balasubramaniam, Principal, delivered the Presidential Address. In his address, he highlighted on the innumerable opportunities the students of literature have ahead of them once they master the major and the language.

            Dr. V. Chinnusamy, CEO, offered felicitation. He congratulated the department for successfully organizing various events during the past academic year and motivated the department to further accomplish many wonders and add credits to the college. This was followed the Inaugural Address by the Chief Guest Mrs.R.Mrinalini David, Secretary, Bishop Appasamy College of Arts and Science, Coimbatore. She spoke on the theme Life through Literature, by citing various eminent authors and their meaningful lines from varied works.  Mr.S.Nagaraja, Assistant Professor and Head, Dept.of English (A) offered felicitation.

        The Elysian Field activities for the morning session ensued immediately and the students of the department paraded their talents in various arts. Ms.C.K.Akshaya, Vice-President of the Literary Association proposed the Vote of Thanks. The event came to an end at 1.00. p.m.

         Post lunch break, the Elysian Field activities for the afternoon session began at 2.00 p.m. The students of the department enacted a mime, staged a play, sang songs and paraded their talents.

          At the end of the activities, Mr. David Jeffery and Ms. Selena of I BA English Literature were declared Mr.& Ms.UG and Mr. Krishna and Ms. Merin of I MA English Literature were declared Mr. & Ms. PG for their frolicking performances. Mr.E.Sri Krishna, Secretary of the Literary Association proposed the Vote of Thanks and the events concluded at 3.00 p.m.

Updated : 20-07-2018