Arts and Science College (Autonomous)

Institution Affiliated to Bharathiar University

Re-accredited by NAAC with 'A' Grade 3.64 CGPA (3rd Cycle)

College of Excellence (UGC)

Co-Educational Institution Approved by UGC, New Delhi

  G.N.Mills Post, Coimbatore - 641029, Tamilnadu, INDIA

44 years of educational excellance

Science Academies-Dept. of Chemistry (PG)

The Department of Chemistry (PG & Research) organized “Science Academies’ Lecture Workshop” on 21st and 22nd July 2017. The lectures given in the workshop addressed to the latest advances in electrochemical systems and relevant materials. 150 participants from various institutions at the national level attended the workshop.

The workshop started with a prayer song. Dr. K. Kalpanadevi, Assistant Professor & Head, Department of Chemistry (PG) delivered the welcome address. The presidential address was given by Dr. V. Balasubramaniam, Principal. Dr. Aninda J Bhattacharrya, Associate Professor, Solid state and structural chemistry unit, IISc, Bengaluru, delivered the inaugural address. Felicitations were offered by Dr. V. Chinnusamy, CEO.

The technical sessions of Day I – 21.07.2017 (Friday) were by Prof. Vijayamohanan K. Pillai, CSIR-CECRI, Karaikudi and Dr. Raj Pal Ganesh,  IIT-Kanpur. Prof. Vijayamohanan K. Pillai, addressed on the topics ‘Chemistry and the world of intelligent materials’ and ‘Applications of nanocarbons for electrochemical energy storage’. Dr. Raj Pal Ganesh gave lectures on the topics ‘Engineering semiconductor interface via non-native nanostructures to facilitate electron-hole separation’ and ‘Material design principles for oxygen evolution electrocatalysts’.

 The speakers for Day II – 22.07.2017 (Saturday) were Prof. S. Sampath, IISc, Bengaluru and Dr. Aninda J Bhattacharyya, IISc, Bengaluru. Prof. S. Sampath talked on the topics ‘Basic concepts involved in the electrochemistry at interfaces’ and ‘Recent developments in the area of unconventional electrode materials’. Dr. Aninda J Bhattacharyya spoke on ‘Electrochemistry of biological molecules’ and ‘Microbial Fuel Cells’. 

The lecture workshop ended with the valedictory function. Vote of thanks was given by Dr. K. Kalpanadevi, Coordinator of the workshop, which was followed by the National Anthem.


Updated : 24-07-2017